Skip to content

What Makes a Writer? : Career Confusions Of A Twenty Something

September 18, 2012

I was listening to the radio the other night and a song by Baz Luhrmann came on, you may know it…”Sunscreen.”  If you don’t know it, go ahead, click the play button below and have a listen Make sure to follow the lyrics along closely.

•SUNSCREEN-BAZ LUHRMAN•

For anyone who listens to this song, I promise it is like a ray of inspiration – even at 2AM on a Sunday morning like it was for me. I felt like I HAD to do something… anything…just one thing  that will get me one step closer to what I want out of my  life.

I currently work from home for a telecommunications company and am in the midst of setting up two separate businesses. I did not go to University and earn a degree. I had the opportunity, attended for a year, and perhaps I will return someday. But not right now. For those closest to me, they can attest to the fact that I am may as well be a chicken running with it’s head cut off when it comes to career decisions. I once wanted to be a Pilot, a Chef, an Engineer, a Fashion Designer… even an Accountant – among the LONG list behind me. Blegh. What was I thinking!

I approached my career aspirations with an intense passion and perseverance resulting in poor decisions landing me in a deeply depressive state… where I once again, sit… contemplating my future.

The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris

The Thinking Man sculpture at Musée Rodin in Paris (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It goes something like this:

1. Questioning Myself
“What am I doing with my life?!”
“Why haven’t I accomplished more?”
 
2. University Research
Feverishly scan University websites for programs that would land me in a $100 000 salary job.
 
3. Next Career Faze
After finding the $100 000 salary job, I would convince myself that, (for the purpose of my explanation we’ll say) being a Plant Operator is the BEST thing for me. No matter how loud that annoying “you know you don’t want to do that” voice inside me was screaming.
 
4. Convincing
I would without fail convince everyone around me that my new career aspiration has ALWAYS been the one thing I aspired to. I think I even had some fooled.
 
5. DEPRESSION
I’d listen to that annoying voice. Go back to step 1.

Wellll, safe to say…I did not turn out to be a Plant Operator…Phew! Close one.

Which brings me to talking about what I am seeking out of this blog. As I approach my crown birthday this year in November (feel free to send birthday wishes my way then !) I find myself thinking more about what is going to make me happy in the now, not the future.

During all those career fazes I had, one thing really did stay the same, I always used writing as an outlet to just…relax. I would write short stories, mini stage scripts, songs, whatever made it’s way from my mind to the keyboard. Often times I would write, read and delete. The words, for my eyes only.
Bliss.

So in the midst of writing business plans and securing funding for my start-ups, I am going to put all that feverish passion I had for that other stuff into my writing. I mean, who on earth can seriously cook a 5 star meal, fly a plane and build a bridge all in one day? Actually…if given the opportunity I would probably try to do all of that! But that’s just me.

I’d like to share with you my experiences, struggles and daily life journey and hopefully you will share back with me through the most easily accessible and raw form of art… writing. I am to inspire and seek inspiration.

I hope that I can connect with 20 something’s like myself over the growth of this blog and we can share in this awesome gift that is life!

If you have any comments, advice or want to contact me I welcome you to do so!

Stay True To You,
xo
L.J

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura Howarth permalink
    September 19, 2012 3:35 PM

    Thanks for dropping by my blog!
    I really enjoyed this post 🙂 looking forward to reading more of what you write.

    • September 19, 2012 3:44 PM

      Hello there Laura! My pleasure, I will certainly be following your blog 🙂
      Thank you so much for your nice comments!

      Have a nice day!

Leave a Reply

Graf von Birthelm

Enthusiast entrepreneur.

NegTech

Your #1 Source for Negotiating Technology of Today - Creating a simple world of win-win.

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

Twenty Something Blues in Chicago

Your twenties are just an extension of your adolescence.

she started living a life she imagined!

A GIRL WHO STARTED HER WHAT IF PROJECT!

CREATIVE DONKEY

I,ll teach u how to shampoo a gorilla

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

Ripe2Gripe

Going Bananas with Civil Discourse

365 And Counting

there's plenty more where the first year came from

ROAM ABOUT MIKE

Adventures From Around the Globe

THE SURFING PIZZA

essays, nostalgia, humor, and weirdness

The Good Greatsby

Paul Johnson's comedy blog: I didn't get into comedy to be rich or famous. All I've ever wanted was to be loved...by somebody rich and famous.

Laurmadillo

I've got this.

Multo (Ghost)

Ghosts of story, myth, or anywhere else....

